Ramcharit Charcha CDXCIX

II Shree Guruvey Namah II

Jai Shri Ram,

II Sri Ram Jai Ram Jai Jai Ram II
II Sri Ram Jai Ram Jai Jai Ram II
II Sri Ram Jai Ram Jai Jai Ram II

बिधि न सकेउ सहि मोर दुलारा। नीच बीचु जननी मिस पारा।
यहउ कहत मोहि आजु न सोभा। अपनीं समुझि साधु सुचि को भा।।
मातु मंदि मैं साधु सुचाली। उर अस आनत कोटि कुचाली।।
फरइ कि कोदव बालि सुसाली। मुकुता प्रसव कि संबुक काली।।
सपनेहुँ दोसक लेसु न काहू। मोर अभाग उदधि अवगाहू।।
बिनु समुझें निज अघ परिपाकू। जारिउँ जायँ जननि कहि काकू।।
हृदयँ हेरि हारेउँ सब ओरा। एकहि भाँति भलेहिं भल मोरा।।
गुर गोसाइँ साहिब सिय रामू। लागत मोहि नीक परिनामू।।
दो0-साधु सभा गुर प्रभु निकट कहउँ सुथल सति भाउ।
प्रेम प्रपंचु कि झूठ फुर जानहिं मुनि रघुराउ।।261।।

We covered up to Doha 261 of Ayodhya Kand in Ramcharit Manas of Tulsidas in the last post and learned that Bharat told before the assembly that the god was unfavorable to him hence had distanced him from Shri Ram using his vile mother. He also said that it was not right to blame anyone for ones own misfortune, none has ever been rated as nice person as per ones own opinion about oneself; it was not right for him to say that mother was wrong and him was right because being her son how could he be a good person. He mentioned that without taking in to account ones own fault one should not blame others. In this light, Bharat said that he only saw defeat for himself in every situation. Lastly he said that the saving grace for him was that having Guru Vashishttha, Mother Sita and Brother Shri Ram as his saviors the end result would be fine. Bharat declared on that sacred spot before saintly people where Guru and Master were present too that both Muni and Shri Ram were well aware whether his love was genuine or a mere pretense.

भूपति मरन पेम पनु राखी। जननी कुमति जगतु सबु साखी।।
देखि न जाहि बिकल महतारी। जरहिं दुसह जर पुर नर नारी।।
महीं सकल अनरथ कर मूला। सो सुनि समुझि सहिउँ सब सूला।।
सुनि बन गवनु कीन्ह रघुनाथा। करि मुनि बेष लखन सिय साथा।।
बिनु पानहिन्ह पयादेहि पाएँ। संकरु साखि रहेउँ एहि घाएँ।।
बहुरि निहार निषाद सनेहू। कुलिस कठिन उर भयउ न बेहू।।
अब सबु आँखिन्ह देखेउँ आई। जिअत जीव जड़ सबइ सहाई।।
जिन्हहि निरखि मग साँपिनि बीछी। तजहिं बिषम बिषु तामस तीछी।।
दो0-तेइ रघुनंदनु लखनु सिय अनहित लागे जाहि।
तासु तनय तजि दुसह दुख दैउ सहावइ काहि।।262।।

Bharat went to express his feelings and said, “The king (Dashrath) lost his life only for the sake of his love (for Shri Ram) and due to wicked intention of my mother, who gave birth to me and created this havoc which has been witnessed by the whole world. I am not able to look at my other mothers who are very distressed on that account. The citizens of Ayodhya also are feeling heat of that very affliction. People talk of my being at the root of what happened and I understand that the fact is not very different hence I have to bear all this hurtful murmur.

“When I learned that Raghunath Shri Ram has had to leave for jungle along with Lakshman and Sita in garb of Munis and without footwear, it made a deep wound on my psyche which I have survived (only to undo it by some means at my command) which Lord Shankar would confirm. When I observed affection of Nushad Guha for Shri Ram I could know that my heart did not break because it is hard like stone. Now I have seen with my eyes and have experienced as well the woes Shri Ram and others have had to suffer. Now it seems to me that so long as I live my insensitive self will make me suffer and bear what ever comes my way.

“On sighting whom while on their way even the poisonous scorpions and snakes lose their callous nature of biting and spitting deadly poison, such Shri Ram the descendant of Raghu, Sita and Lakshman seemed to be harmful and dangerous to my mother; besides me, as her son, who else will qualify better to be given doses of unbearable pains and subjected to intense suffering by the lord of fate.”

We have now covered up to Doha 262 of Ayodhya Kand.

Bhavani Shanakr Ki Jai!
Shri Jankivallabho Vijayatey!
Sant Samaj Ko Pranam!
Goswami Tulsidas Ki Jai!

HariOm,
Krishna Khandelwal

Leave a Reply

